3rd Degree


Cooper Story a Fake

January 23rd, 2009 . 2:12 pm . By: Buzz Carrick

Below you see a post we made with a link to a aticle that appears to be by Phil Stephens.  But take another look, specifically at the URL.  It’s missing an “S.”  Phil’s site is http://www.dallassoccernews.com/.  The linked article is a doctored re-direct at the URL http://www.dallasoccernews.com/.  Not the same and clearly now a fake.

Which explains quite a bit doens’t it.

Dallas Soccer News says Cooper about to sign with Rosenberg.  That contradicts what Hyndman had said about being told Cooper would be around this year.

Although it’s certainly possible Cooper could be going and doing talks on his own without yet having a sale agreed.  That can and does happen.

Anyone read Norwegian?  This one I think may be saying there hasn’t been any recent contact.

(Thanks to Stopper for spotting the links)

In addition I don’t think it’s quite fair to say Cooper has stagnated at FCD.  Since he’s come here he’s become one of the best goal scorers in MLS and is now getting more looks with the US National Team.

The culprit has even fessed up to the game aand given his reasons for the fake.  Apparently it had to do with Rosenborg and the press in Norway.

I did it because I was fed up by the Norwegian newspapers’ lack of source criticism. The fake article has been used by over fifty online newspapers since I published it on a forum yesterday. It has even been printed:

 

Norway paper running fake Cooper story.

Norway paper running fake Cooper story.

 






9 Comments

  1. Comment by Matt on January 23, 2009 2:29 PM

    I think this should be pretty close. Here’s the article translated to English:
    ————————————–
    The U.S. soccer site Dallas Soccer News writes that Cooper is expected to sign for RBK in a few days. The site claims that Cooper travels to Trondheim Sunday to complete the final contract negotiations with the Trønderne side. “Only rumors,” said Rosenborg chairman Jan Schiefloe to VG Nett.

    He has been involved in RBKs Cooper calls since the beginning. A Scandinavian FIFA agent based in the United States claims the parties have not had contact for several months.

    RBK have been interested in the Dallas star in the long period of time, but the club are not interested in selling their top scorer. Cooper scored 18 goals in 30 games in 2008.

    Dallas has no desire to sell him unless they get a lot of money for him. They said no to German club Eintracht Frankfurt when the offer was even more than that what was offered by Rosenborg. I think this is just fabrication, “said Schiefloe.

    Dallas Soccer News writes that clubs from Germany, France, Denmark and Britain have shown interest for the former Manchester United junior. Kenny Cooper should have wanted to be Liverpool player.
    There is a big club in Europe, and they would always have a place in the Champions League, “said a source close to the Cooper site.

    Jan Schielfoe guarantees, however, that Cooper is not RBK player in the near future.
    “Yes, I have not heard anything about it. And I have been involved from beginning to end”, says the agent.

  2. Comment by Buzz Carrick on January 23, 2009 2:43 PM

    Ok great translations. Thanks. Schielfoe would know.

  3. Comment by jsig on January 23, 2009 3:19 PM

    When does the US MNT play? Saturday at 5:30? Walk out of USMNT camp before the Mexico Game? Redeye flight there and back to USMNT Camp. Current valid MLS contract?

    Really?

  4. Comment by Moose McDowell on January 23, 2009 4:06 PM

    I guess we now know that Cooper likes his grilled chicken sandwiches. You learn something new every day.

  5. Comment by Alex on January 23, 2009 4:12 PM

    Why would someone fake a story like this? Just trying to think what the motivation is here.

  6. Comment by Nathan King on January 23, 2009 6:03 PM

    Exactly.. Someone has a lot of time on their hands and a twisted agenda.

  7. Comment by JA on January 24, 2009 3:11 AM

    REALLY low of whoever made this to throw Phil’s credibility under the bus like that.

  8. Comment by Joel on January 27, 2009 2:05 PM

    That is too funny. It does not make sense why they would fabricate such material. LOL

  9. Comment by Enrique on February 10, 2010 8:56 AM

    There was some Norwegians who made the false site. They did it to fool Norwegian media, and they made it!

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a comment

© Copyright 1996-2009 A. Buzz Carrick, All Rights Reserved. This website is an unofficial and independently-operated source of soccer news and information and is not directly affiliated with or endorsed by any team, league or their owners. Logos and other promotional materials are property of their respective owners. For FC Dallas' official team site, visit www.fcdallas.net. Interested in contributing to our effort? Then contact us at buzz@3rddegree.net

    Founded October 1997

    Volume Fourteen

  • 42 Point Playoff Target

  • Current Points: 21
    Points Out: 21
    Games Left: 17